Large Medium small Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

Initial Proposals - talking points

Sixth Review index | Initial Proposals

We published these Talking Points when we announced the publication of our Initial Proposals on 13 October 2011 by issuing a News Release.

Talking Points

  • The Commission is proposing 6 constituencies exactly covering Glasgow City in place of the current 7 constituencies.
  • The Commission is proposing 4 constituencies exactly covering the City of Edinburgh in place of the current 5 constituencies.
  • The Commission is proposing 2 constituencies exactly covering Aberdeen City. Only one council ward is split and this is along an existing constituency boundary.
  • The Commission is proposing 4 constituencies exactly covering the combined extent of Highland, Argyll and Bute, and Moray council areas, in place of the current 5 constituencies.
  • The Commission is proposing 3 re-configured constituencies exactly covering the combined extent of Falkirk and West Lothian council areas, as at present.
  • 34 proposed mainland constituencies are each wholly contained in a single council area. 16 proposed mainland constituencies combine parts of 2 council areas.
  • The largest area of a proposed constituency is Caithness, Sutherland, Ross and Cromarty constituency which is 12,830 square kilometres: the largest current constituency is Ross, Skye and Lochaber which is 12,779 square kilometres.
  • For the first time, a constituency will cover part of Fife council area and part of another council area. The Commission is proposing a constituency combining all of Clackmannanshire council area with the western part of Fife. The only alternative approach which would not cross either the Firth of Forth or the Firth of Tay would be a constituency covering part of Fife and part of Perth and Kinross.
  • The Commission is proposing that whenever a council area can have a whole number of constituencies exactly covering its extent, it does: Aberdeen City (2 constituencies), East Lothian (1 constituency), City of Edinburgh (4 constituencies) and Glasgow City (6 constituencies).
  • Under the proposals, some towns across Scotland are divided between 2 constituencies, such as Ayr, Bearsden, Coatbridge, Dunfermline and East Kilbride.
  • East Dunbartonshire has 332 too many electors for a single constituency exactly covering the council area.
  • Under the proposals, the only completely unchanged mainland constituency is East Lothian, which covers the same extent as East Lothian council area.
  • The proposed Kilmarnock and Loudoun constituency and Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk constituency are very similar to existing constituencies of the same names: the only changes result from them fitting with current ward boundaries.
  • 10 existing mainland constituencies are each completely contained in 1 proposed constituency (Argyll and Bute; Banff and Buchan; Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross; East Lothian; East Renfrewshire; Inverclyde; Midlothian; Moray; Stirling; West Dunbartonshire).

Sixth Review index | Initial Proposals

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001