Large Medium small Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

European Parliament constituencies 1979 - 1984

All maps index | | 1979-84 | 1984-99 | 1999 | | Data files

These are the 8 European Parliament constituencies for Scotland recommended in our Report in 1978. They were used in elections to the European Assembly (as it was then known) in 1979. These European constituencies were defined as collections of the UK Parliament constituencies in use in 1978, as defined in our Second Periodical Report of 1969 and revised by our Interim Report of 1972.

All Scotland map
File icon (5.6 MB) thumbnail image

The table below gives more detailed maps of each individual European Parliament constituency. For information on downloading and using the PDF files from this page, see the Technical section of our Frequently Asked Questions.

Individual constituency maps
Glasgow File icon (7.4 MB)
Highlands and Islands File icon (7.6 MB)
Lothians File icon (7.5 MB)
Mid Scotland and Fife File icon (7.5 MB)
North East Scotland File icon (7.4 MB)
South of Scotland File icon (7.5 MB)
Strathclyde East File icon (7.4 MB)
Strathclyde West File icon (7.5 MB)

All maps index | | 1979-84 | 1984-99 | 1999 | | Data files

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001