2018 Review

2018 Review of UK Parliament Constituencies

On 5 September 2018 we submitted our Report for the 2018 Review of UK Parliament Constituencies to the Secretary of State for Scotland. The Report was laid before Parliament on Monday 10 September 2018.

We commenced our 2018 Review of UK Parliament Constituencies in February 2016.

On 20 October 2016 we published our initial proposals for a 12 week consultation period, until 11 January 2017. We conducted a secondary consultation on our Initial Proposals for constituencies from 28 February until 27 March 2017.

On 17 October 2017 we published our revised proposals for a 8 week consultation period, until 11 December 2017.

The Review was carried out simultaneously for the whole of the UK by the four parliamentary Boundary Commissions, and will result in the number of constituencies for the UK being 600.

Rules allocate Scotland 53 constituencies out of 600 across the UK, 6 fewer than at present.

The electoral quota for the review, which is the average electorate per constituency across the UK, is 74,769.2, with the electorate of each constituency having to be within 5% of that, that is between 71,031 and 78,507.

2018 Review Final Recommendations

2018 Review - Final Recommendations Maps

2018 Review – News Release


2018 Review - Revised Proposals

2018 Review - Revised Proposals News Release

2018 Review - Revised Proposals Map

2018 Review - Revised Proposals Display Points


2018 Review - Secondary Consultation on Initial Proposals

2018 Review - Secondary Consultation News Release

2018 Review - Secondary Consultation - display point poster


2018 Review - Initial Proposals

2018 Review - Initial Proposals News Release

2018 Review - Initial Proposals News Release - Consultation Closing


2018 Review - Start of Review

2018 Review - Commencement News Release

2018 Review - Commencement Questions and Answers


2018 Review - Supporting Information

2018 Review - Policies and Procedures Booklet

2018 Review - Review Timetable

2018 Review - Jan 2017 Progress Report


Select the icon to view current and historic boundaries.