2023 Review of UK Parliament Constituencies

The Boundary Commission for Scotland began its 2023 Review of UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland in January 2021.

Scotland has been allocated 57 constituencies for the 2023 Review, two less than at present. England has been allocated 543 (+10), Northern Ireland 18 (no change) and Wales 32 (-8). Each constituency that we recommend must contain no less than 69,724 Parliamentary electors, and no more than 77,062 (except two ‘protected’ constituencies of Na h-Eileanan an Iar (the Western Isles) and Orkney and Shetland. If it is considered necessary, the Commission can recommend a constituency with an electorate lower than the minimum if it is larger than 12,000 square kilometres. No constituency can be larger than 13,000 square kilometres.

We published our initial proposals for an 8-week consultation on 14 October 2021.

From 10 February to 23 March 2022 we held our 6-week secondary consultation. We published all comments received during the initial consultation and invited further comments on these via our consultation site. We held five public hearings during the secondary consultation. 

We published our revised proposals for a final 4-week consultation stage from 8 November to 5 December 2022. 

Our final recommendations were laid before Parliament on 28 June 2023.

The Parliamentary Constituencies Order 2023 was made on 15 November 2023 and will come into force on 29th November 2023. The new constituencies will take effect at the next General Election.

Supporting and background information

2023 Review - Existing constituency map with electorate

2023 Review - Existing Constituency Electorates

2023 Review - Electorate by Ward

2023 Review Policies and Procedures

Speakers Report on progress during 2021

Speakers Report on progress during 2022

2023 Review - electorate calculation process


Final Recommendations

We submitted our final recommendations to the Speaker of the House of Commons and to the Secretary of State for Scotland on 27 June 2023. The recommendations were laid before the UK Parliament on 28 June 2023. Within a four month period the UK Government must submit to the Privy Council an Order that gives effect to the recommendations. The Order in Council will come into force on the fourteenth day after the day on which it is made, and the new boundaries will then apply at the next UK Parliamentary General Election.   

Final Recommendations - News Release

Final Recommendations – 2023 Review Final Report (100mb) | 2023 Review Final Report (reduced 20mb)

2023 Review Final Report - Statement of modifications

Final Recommendations – Constituency Electorate by Ward

Final Recommendations – GIS Data - the new constituency boundaries shown here are provisional and are subject to confirmation by Ordnance Survey. The final boundaries may have small differences and will be published on the Ordnance Survey Boundary-Line website.

2023 Review Meeting Paper Index

Final Recommendations - Constituency Maps

Aberdeen North | Aberdeen South | Aberdeenshire North and Moray East | Airdrie and Shotts | Alloa and Grangemouth | Angus and Perthshire Glens | Arbroath and Broughty Ferry | Argyll, Bute and South Lochaber | Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock | Bathgate and Linlithgow | Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk | Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross | Central Ayrshire | Coatbridge and Bellshill | Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy | Cumbernauld and Kirkintilloch | Dumfries and Galloway | Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale | Dundee Central | Dunfermline and Dollar | East Kilbride and Strathaven | East Renfrewshire | Edinburgh East and Musselburgh | Edinburgh North and Leith | Edinburgh South | Edinburgh South West | Edinburgh West | Falkirk | Glasgow East | Glasgow North | Glasgow North East | Glasgow South | Glasgow South West | Glasgow West | Glenrothes and Mid Fife | Gordon and Buchan | Hamilton and Clyde Valley | Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West | Inverness, Skye and West Ross-shire | Kilmarnock and Loudoun | Livingston | Lothian East | Mid Dunbartonshire | Midlothian | Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey | Motherwell, Wishaw and Carluke | Na h-Eileanan an Iar | North Ayrshire and Arran | North East Fife | Orkney and Shetland | Paisley and Renfrewshire North | Paisley and Renfrewshire South | Perth and Kinross-shire | Rutherglen | Stirling and Strathallan | West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine | West Dunbartonshire | To view a web-map of our final recommendations, go to our maps page.

Revised Proposals: Revised and Final Consultation (8 November to 5 December 2022)

Revised Proposals: News Release | Summary Booklet | Electorate by Ward | GIS Data

Revised Proposals Constituency Maps

All Scotland map | Aberdeen North | Aberdeen South | Aberdeenshire Central | Aberdeenshire North and Moray East | Airdrie | Argyll Bute and South Lochaber | Ayr Carrick and Cumnock | Bathgate and Linlithgow | Bearsden and Campsie Fells | Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk | Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross | Central Ayrshire | Clackmannanshire and Forth Valley | Coatbridge and Bellshill | Dumfries and Galloway | Dumfriesshire Clydesdale and Tweeddale | Dundee East and Arbroath | Dundee West | Dunfermline and East Ochils | East Kilbride and Strathaven | East Lothian and Lammermuirs | East Renfrewshire | Edinburgh East | Edinburgh North and Leith | Edinburgh SouthEdinburgh South West | Edinburgh West | Falkirk | Glasgow North | Glasgow North East | Glasgow South  | Glasgow South East | Glasgow South West | Glasgow West | Glenrothes | Hamilton and Clyde Valley | Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West | Inverness-shire and Wester Ross | Kilmarnock and Loudoun | Kilsyth Hills and Cumbernauld | Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath | Livingston | Midlothian | Motherwell and Clydesdale North | Na h-Eileanan an Iar | Nairn Strathspey and Moray West | North Ayrshire and Arran | North East Fife | North Tayside | Orkney and Shetland | Paisley and Renfrewshire North | Paisley and Renfrewshire South | Perth and Loch Leven | Rutherglen | Stirling | West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine | West Dunbartonshire | Revised Proposals with existing boundaries all Scotland map.

Initial Proposals: Secondary Consultation and Public Hearings (10 Feb. to 23 March 2022)

Secondary consultation stage News Release | Public Hearing Dates News Release